

Leslie R. Swan Supervisor of Elections Indian River County

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 9, 2017

For Additional Information Contact: Leslie Rossway Swan 772-226-3440 4375 43rd Avenue Vero Beach, FL 32967

Media Alert

AND THE WINNER OF THE "I VOTED" STICKER CONTEST IS...

Indian River County, FL – The inaugural "I Voted" Sticker Contest hosted by the Indian River County Supervisor of Elections Office, in partnership with the Cultural Council of Indian River County and Vero Beach Museum of Art was a huge success. Students from six different schools submitted thirty-seven designs to be considered for Indian River County's official "I Voted" sticker during the 2017-2018 election cycle. The winning design will be printed on stickers and will serve as the official "I Voted" sticker, which will be distributed to thousands of voters over the next two years.

Contest judges Leslie Swan, the Indian River County Supervisor of Elections, Donna Lindsay, Board Secretary for the Cultural Council and Danielle Johnson, Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art named William Johnson of Saint Edward's School the winner of the inaugural "I Voted" Sticker Contest. As such, Johnson will receive a \$50 gift card to Michaels from the Indian River County Supervisor of Elections Office, a Family Membership to the Vero Beach Museum of Art, and an Artist Membership to the Cultural Council of Indian River County. The winning design, along with designs submitted by runners up Lauren Weaver of Master's Academy and Kathleen Kachaylo of Vero Beach High School will be on display at the Vero Beach Museum of Art, in the Eggert Children's Gallery, from October 9 through November 7.

The purpose of the contest was to engage local high school and college students in the electoral process. Whether worn as a badge of pride or as a reminder to others to vote, or to honor those who paved the way so that all citizens would have an equal opportunity to vote, "I Voted" stickers are an uplifting, nonpartisan element of the elections process.



Contest Judges Supervisor Swan, Donna Lindsay and Danielle Johnson present winning design